, 11 Popular Senators Demand Nnamdi Kanu’s Immediate Release, Write Buhari -

11 Popular Senators Demand Nnamdi Kanu’s Immediate Release, Write Buhari

In compliance with an appeals court judgement, senators from the South East Caucus have demanded Mazi Nnamdi Kanu, the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, be released.

The caucus, which consists of eleven Senators, reportedly made the decision in a statement released and made available to newsmen in Abuja on Thursday.

The IPOB leader was cleared and released last week by the Appeal Court of all accusations of terrorism brought against him by the Federal government.

Kanu, who was detained again in Kenya in June 2021, is still being held by the Department of State Services, according to Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice Abubakar Malami, who stated that Kanu had simply been cleared not acquitted of all charges.

The Senate caucus urged President Muhammadu Bubari to uphold the promise he had previously made to the Igbos and release Kanu after the administration refused to do what the Appeal Court had directed.

“We should be aware of our variety and the advantages it gives us as a nation. Showing magnanimity and statesmanship at this time is appropriate.

The Appeal Court has given the government the freedom to live up to its commitment to upholding Nigeria’s unity and appreciation for its diversity.

In light of this, we as a Caucus and stakeholders in the Nigeria project make an appeal to Mr. President to keep the commitment he made to a group of Igboland elders some time ago and free Nnamdi Kanu, particularly now that the Appeal Court has lifted his burden of proof through that decision. The caucus declared that filing an appeal would ultimately nullify the generous gesture.

Senators Chukwuka Utazi (Minority Whip), Orji Uzor Kalu (Majority Whip), Enyinnaya Abaribe, Uche Ekwunife (Iyom), Sam Egwu, Stella Oduah, and Obinna Ogba, as well as Senator T. A. Orji, signed the statement.

Senators Chimaroke Nnamani, Onyewuchi Ezenwa, Micheal Nnachi, Rochas Okorocha, Frank Ibezim, and Patrick Ifeanyi Uba are among the others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *